Members of Altrusa are dedicated to developing and applying our leadership abilities within the club and in our communities. The club achieved Altrusa International's Distinguished Club status in 2008-2009 and again in 2010-2011, 2013-2014 and 2014-2015.

We also recognize leadership through two scholarships to Waubonsee Community College students and by honoring an Altrusan of the Year.

Altrusan of the Year

In 2000, Altrusa International Inc of the Fox Valley Illinois inaugurated the selection of a member who had exemplified Altrusa in an outstanding way the previous year. This award recognizes the member of our club who has extended herself above and beyond expectations to serve our club and our community and cannot be the serving president.

This year's recipient is Sharee Clough.  During the past year she has served as Secretary for the Club.  Sharee contributes to each event and willing serves the Club and the community.

Each year the recipient's name is engraved on a traveling plaque in an addition to a certificate the honoree may keep permanently. Members who received this award are shown below:

  • 2000 - Myrtle Green
  • 2001 - Naomi Bronson
  • 2002 - Katherine Johannaber
  • 2003 - Elaine Wolf
  • 2004 - Jo Anne Nisbett
  • 2005 - Doris Czarobski
  • 2006 - Lynda McCann Dorsch
  • 2007 - Jan Roman
  • 2008 - Jill Falls
  • 2009 - Pat Frieders
  • 2010 - Judy Reuter
  • 2011 - Sandee Jensen
  • 2012 - Cathy Rady
  • 2013 - Carol Trumbold
  • 2014 - Sharee Clough
  • 2015 - Judi Urban
  • 2016 - Angela Cliff

Altrusa Scholarship

Each year, the Altrusa Fox Valley club provides a scholarship to a student at Waubonsee Community College. The Waubonsee Community College Academic Foundation selects our recipients using the following criteria: Woman over the age of 25 who is returning to school to improve her ability to make a living for herself and her family. Funds may be used for tuition, books or child care. For the past 4 years we have been able to provide two of these scholarships.

Chernin Dettman is a single parent with two young children who is returning to school full time this year with the goal of becomming a neuro psychologist.  In 2013 she was diagnosed with severe chronic Lyme disease and was bedridden for two years.  This experience caused her to develop a strong compassion for others who are suffering, as well as the desire to help these people.  Hence this career choice.

Sabrina Szigeti states that she is a typical 25 year old woman, making her way through life as a cashier.  She wants to pursue a career in publishing as an editor for novels.  She is passionate about writing and wants to spread this passion to other writers.  Her goal is to earn an Associates degree as an English major.  She feels that writing is an art that will constantly change.  After WCC she will transfer to a college on the east coast because that is where the publishing companies are. She is in the Creative Writing Club at WCC and will also volunteer as an editor of their literary magazine, Horizons.

Altrusans will be attending the Waubonsee Community College Scholarship Fest in September to meet Chernin and Sabrina.

Past scholarship winners include:

2016-2017    Chernin Dettman and Sabrina Szigeti

2015-2016    Heather Thomas and Debbie Boedeker

2014-2015    Sarah Kaminski and Amanda Lawrence

2013-2014    Kirsten Heiser and Lisa A. Wade

2012-2013    Kimberley Illingworth

2011-2012    Valerie Muszynski

2010-2011     Isa (Svetlana) Villaflor-Capanas

2009-2010    LeSure Monika

2008-2009    Brito Yahaida

2007-2008    Vickie Zwiezen

2006-2007    Maria Weseloh

2004-2005    Irene Needham

2003-2004    Irene Needham


Angela Cliff receives the 2015-2016 Altrusan of the Year award from Past President Cathy Rady
Judi Urban receives the 2014-2015 Member of the Year award from President Cathy Rady
Sharee Clough receives the 2013-2014 Altrusan of the Year award from President Jill Falls.
President Jill Falls presented the traveling plaque and certificate to Carol Trumbold, Altrusan of the Year 2012-2013.
Cathy Rady received the 2012 Altrusan of the Year Award.Cathy Rady received the 2012 Altrusan of the Year Award from President Pat Frieders.
Sandee Jensen received the 2011 Altrusan of the Year award from President Pat Frieders.
Donate Now
Your help makes a real difference
Get Involved
Improves lives in your community
Altrusa In Action
Affecting communities like yours
Copyright (c) 2017 Altrusa International, Inc. All rights reserved.
One North LaSalle St., Suite 1955, Chicago, IL 60602 • 1-312-427-4410 • altrusa@altrusa.org